Zakat|Fourth pillar of Islam

 Zakat is a fourth pillar of Islam .It literally means 'that which purifies'.Zakat benefits the Muslims in the world.It fulfills the needs of the poor and needy.Zakat is based on income.It is customarily 2.5%of a Muslim 's total savings and who are entitled to receive it are called 'Musaraf' in the Holy Quran.

Fourth pillar of Islam

1.Persons entitled to receive Zakat:

In ayah 60 ,Surah al-Tawba, ALLAH ALMIGHTY has numerated eight persons entitled to receive the holy amount of Zakat. ALLAH ALMIGHTY ordains:

"Zakat expenditures are only for the poor and for the needy and for those employed to collect (Zakat)and for bringing hearts together (for Islam)and for freeing captives(or slaves)and for those in debt and for the cause of ALLAH and for the (stranded) traveller-an obligation (imposed) by  ALLAH. And ALLAH is knowing and WISE."

2.Importace of Zakat highlight in the Quran:

Some important verses on Zakat from the Holy Quran are as under;

  • Those who believe,and do deeds of righteousness and establish regular prayers and give Zakat,will have their reward with their LORD:on them shall be no fear ,nor shall they grieve.(2:277)

  • Those who give Sadaqah ,both men and women,and lend goodly loan it will be doubled for them and theirs will be a rich reward,"(18:57)

3.Positive impacts of Zakat on the society:

Zakat has the following impacts on the society:
  • First, it is for the welfare of unprivileged of the society.
  • Second, it is a blessing of ALLAH ALMIGHTY for the giver as well as for the receiver  ,as it improves the total economy of the nation. 
  • Third , it establishes a society on a humanitarian ground. 

Post a Comment